Retirement?

As you can see, I have not posted here for a while. 2015 was a year of interference.

Although I have been “retired” for 3 1/2 years, I have found myself to be quite busy. Retire does not mean slow down, it just means leaving a job or event. I did not really retire from being an artist or designer. I just retired from the place I was employed for 39 years as a designer.

But then artists never really retire…

Home is Where you Bloom on Canvas

nor did my need to nurture.

Oliver with GizmosMy 3 1/2 year old grandson takes up a good part of my time while designing for pleasure takes up another hunk. Somewhere I have to fit in all the other stuff like chores, paying bills, and the getting rid of stuff that I have accumulated over the years.

The part of retirement that I do not like is my body is getting old. It requires more maintenance like an old car. When I hear parents complain that their kids tire them out, I think try being a grandparent! Yet it is a good tired. I am blessed that I can still get on the floor and play, or go down the slide with him at the park. The nicest thing about being a grandparent is that this time I can slow down and take notes. Being a working parent was not easy. I realized as a grandparent how much I missed! I discovered that “spoiling” is really just taking the time to listen and talk with him, to be his buddy.

Soon my buddy will be off to school all too soon. I realize that these times are golden. Yet at the same time when when one door closes another door of opportunity opens.

Never a dull moment!

 

 

About pinkpaperclip

By day, I am a designer in the social expression industry and art director of yourpreciousportraits.com. I enjoy a good story and the good people in my life. I have come to realize that the most important growth is spiritual and God blesses us with his love beyond our imagination.
This entry was posted in Art and Design Projects, Digital Art, Family Album, Grandhildren, illustration, Reflections, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

